North Independent Secondary School of the Year 2020 North Independent Secondary School of the Year 2021

Our teachers

Key staff in Primary School

Leadership team

Gabrielle Solti – Vice Principal and Head of Primary School
Emma Cox  Deputy Head Academic
Andrea Evans  – Deputy Head Pastoral and Staff Development
Steph Munro – Assistant Head (Phase 1 and 2)
Tom Weaver – Assistant Head (Phase 3)


Emma Alderson – Teacher/Head of Reception
Katie Herridge – Teacher
Steve McKinley – Teacher/Computing Lead
Marie Gibbs – Teacher

Year 1

Geraldine Riley – Teacher/Head of Year 1
Eleanor Henry – Teacher
Harry Pickup – Teacher
Victoria Bindloss– Teacher

Year 2

Lynne Sagar – Teacher/Head of Year 2
Jo Gordon – Teacher
Becky Dunn – Teacher
Sam Critchley – Teacher/Head of Smeaton House

Year 3

James Shepherd – Teacher/Head of Year 3
Sarah Huddleston – Teacher
Amy Morrison – Teacher
Gareth Coleman– Teacher/Head of Marshall House

Year 4

Rachel Bush – Teacher/Head of Year 4
Hayley Darby-Brown – Teacher/Science Lead
Nina Willis – Teacher
Heather Pawley – Teacher
Katrina Martin – Teacher

Year 5

Ben Thurnhill – Teacher/Head of Year 5
Sally Lumsden – Teacher/Head of Kennedy House
Neil McCluskey – Teacher
Helen Tuxford – Teacher
Fiona Shaw – Teacher

Year 6

Nathan Brook – Teacher/Head of Year 6
Sian Jones – Teacher/Head of Nicholson House
Emily Wright – Teacher
Liz King – Teacher/Maths Lead
Claire Hele – Teacher/English Lead
Ellie O’Halleron – Teacher

Specialist teachers

Philippe Bourgeois – MFL Teacher
Jane Davis – Teacher
Jan Hemsley – Teacher/ Director of PE and Sport
Jolandi Hanekom – Teacher of Music
Anna Rusbatch – Teacher/Director of Music
Craig Whish – Teacher of PE and Co-curricular PE Lead

Individual needs

We have a well-qualified and experienced individual needs team which works throughout the whole school. Mrs Sally Cooke is the head of the Individual Needs Department. The team consists of three individual needs teachers and seven individual needs teaching assistants. Staff in the department hold a wide range of SEND qualifications, including specialist assessment qualifications.

Or, if you prefer to chat to someone please call our admissions team. For Senior School call 0113 228 5121 and for Primary School call 0113 228 5113.